Common Street Spiritual Center is a self-governing community, with leadership distributed among staff and volunteer members and friends.  A volunteer council, whose members are elected by the congregation, works with Rev. Dr. Ian Mevorach in monthly meetings to make financial decisions and in general tend to the needs of the congregation as they arise.  The council in turn empowers other committees and teams.

We have a building committee and are forming a development committee in 2018.  We are seeking a qualified volunteer for the role of assistant treasurer.

Every year the community has an annual meeting in February where it sets its own budget, makes other decisions as needed, and elects officers.  As our community matures lay leadership is becoming increasingly important to shaping and guiding our mission and vision as a Spiritual Center.


CSSC Council

Common Street Spiritual Center is governed by a council of lay leaders elected by the congregation, including the officers of our organization and our minister.  If you have a question, concern, or idea, we’d love to hear from you!

To get in touch with the council as a whole, please email council@commonstreet.org.

Members of the CSSC Council: 

  • Elizabeth Spark, Moderator (President)
  • Amanda Severin, Clerk
  • Richard Sidney, Treasurer
  • Tien Lum, Member
  • Devik Wyman, Member
  • Patrick Conaway, Member
  • Scott Davis, Member
  • Ian Mevorach, Member Ex-Officio